Opportunities in VBA

mikeymay

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I have been using VBA mainly with Excel for a couple of years now and would like to know of any career opportunities available to me with my recent experience.

I have looked on the internet and can't seem to find anything that is predominantley VBA based.

I have a backgorund of 10 years in accountancy and reckon these 2 skills are pretty good ones to have.

Can anyone direct me towards any sites/organisations that might be of interest to me?

Thanks

Excel Facts

Will the fill handle fill 1, 2, 3?
Yes! Type 1 in a cell. Hold down Ctrl while you drag the fill handle.
Jobs in VBA

Have you tried looking at opportunities at consulting firms? The nature of being an Excel/VBA guru lends itself to being project based. The combination of Accountancy and VBA might make you an ideal candidate for a consulting role. You should be willing to travel, though.

If you are in a cubicle in a standard type company, you will likely only be producing work for your immediate supervisor. There's only just so much call for your new skills in that environment. I learned and then forgot VBA working in that environment, having not used them for a while.

Good luck!

If you are in a cubicle in a standard type company, you will likely only be producing work for your immediate supervisor. There's only just so much call for your new skills in that environment.
That really depends on the circumstances. I am in a cubicle in a standard type company, and that is how I learned to use VBA for Excel and Access! The work I do every day calls for it. I work for one supervisor, but support a whole department.

It depends more on the position than the type of company you work for. Mid size to big companies often specialize and have people just for this purpose.