Opening & Closing Forms with Switchboard

dbh139

I am new to using switchboards and am having some difficulty going between forms and my switchboard. I have created a macro which successfully goes from a data form and opens the switchboard, however it does not let me go between the two with my control buttons after I click on it the first time. I am trying to format my forms and switchboard so that when I open a form the switchboard closes, and when I click my "return to switchboard" button on my data form that this form closes and my switchboard opens. I don't understand why it works the first time I use the button, but then seems to stop functioning. Does anyone know how I need to set up the macro or how i need to format my forms?

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December
Yes, this can be easily done with an extra line of code in your Macro's procedure (though limited, Macros are a great way to start learning VBA):
-Goto your code window and find the procedure for the Command Button's Click event
-You see where it says something like
Code:
Docmd.OpenForm stDocName,,stLinkCriteria

Directly AFTER this line, write:
Code:
Docmd.close acForm, "The_Name_Of_The_Form_You're_Trying_To_Close"

Of course, do this for both the Switchboard and the Data Entry form buttons.

Upvote 0
First of all, when I am using my switchboard, it automatically closes whenever I open a data form. When going back is when I am having the problem. I have inserted the line in the code, however I am not sure If I am inserting it in the correct place. Here is all i see in the code for the button. . .

Option Compare Database

Private Sub Command74_Click()
DoCmd.Close acForm, "Display Data Entry Form"
End Sub

Private Sub Command73_Click()
End Sub