Offset and Copying ranges

biotechguy

I am very new to VBA, but as a function of my job I have become the person that is learning it.

So to my question:

What I need is a macro which will search a column (AI) in excel looking for the text "complete". Upon finding this word, I need the macro to select a cell offset by 35 columns, and 7 rows. And then select a range from the offset cell. Cut the range selected, and paste into another worksheet. There could be multiple selections that could say complete, and the same method needs to be applied to all.

Example: "complete" is in cell AI8 of worksheet titled "Submissions in Progress", and I want the macro to select A1:AB8, cut it and paste it into another worksheet titled "Completed Submissions". And then continue to search in column AI for more "complete" text

Thanks

Excel Facts

Excel Wisdom
Using a mouse in Excel is the work equivalent of wearing a lanyard when you first get to college
WOW! That's a big chunk for someone new to VBA!!! Fortunately, it's doable.

Let's go slow as you implied you wanted to learn. The first step is looking for the value "COMPLETE" in Column AI.
Code:
Sub FindComplete()
Dim cl as Range
Range("$AI:$AI").Select
For each cl in Selection
If cl.Value = "COMPLETE" Then MsgBox ("Found one in " & cl.Address)
Next cl
End Sub

You don't really have to select the cells to work with them, but this way is a little easier to see when first learning VBA.
Place this code in a regular module and Run it.
When you get it working, post again and the next step will be to select the cells to be copied.

lenze

Upvote 0
Thank you so much for going slow and helping me out. That worked great as expected. Since you are being so nice as to do it step by step, could you add comments to the sections to better help me understand. Thanks again

Upvote 0