Non Standard sort beyond my experience at present

Orada

Hi all

I am relatively new to VBA so this problem is beyond me at present. It's a conditional sort but with logic so cannot be achieved in the normal multi column conditions. The first example is what I begin with and you can see the logic that this is two families where column A is the persdons age, B is a key field and C is just for information.

Code:
     A         B       c
1.   67        0      husband
2.   33        0      husband
3.   71        1      wife
4.   31        1      wife
5.   29        2      son
6.    9        2      son
7.   37        3      daughter
8.    4        3      daughter

The logic concerns the childrens age and logically what parents they can belong to so what I want to achieve in this example is below but it's just beyond me at present and looks like I will need to swap rows or something.

Code:
     A         B       c
1.   67        0      husband
2.   71        1      wife
3.   37        3      daughter
4.   29        2      son
5.   33        0      husband
6.   31        1      wife
7.    9        2      son
8.    4        3      daughter

Thanks in advance for any insight or help, I'm sure an example of how to do this will help me build further and achieve what I want.

Excel Facts

Waterfall charts in Excel?
Office 365 customers have access to Waterfall charts since late 2016. They were added to Excel 2019.
Hi, Orada.
In each family, will there always be (husband, wife, son, and daughter)?

If so, when the parents have more age than the other parents, they should have older children, both sons and daughters.. Is that correct?

How does a 'key field' have to do with any sorts here? Is it just to more easily identify their roles in the family?

Upvote 0
Moreover, for parents there should be only oldest pairs right?

So if there was

M69, F71, M73, F60, M39, F35...

the pairs would be
M73, F71
M69, F60
M39, F35..

Is this correct?

Upvote 0