New to Access, Need some help in understanding how to structure my database

MakinBacon91

Hello all,

I am having some trouble getting started with Access.
I have a lot of experience with Excel, and VBA, but it seems like an Access database would be a lot more powerful for what I am trying to achieve.

I am just trying to evaluate some of the Access Templates provided by Microsoft for now. (Specifically the Work order management database under Industry templates)

Here is an image of what I am confused about: Pasteboard — Uploaded Image

It shows that CustomerID is linked from Customer Table to Workorders Table.
In the Customer Table, the CustomerIDs are 1, 2, 3, ...
In the Workorders Table it shows CustomerID as "Wide World Importers", "Coho....", "Fourth...", ...

Could someone explain how this works?

Thanks a bunch in advance!

Excel Facts

Square and cube roots
The =SQRT(25) is a square root. For a cube root, use =125^(1/3). For a fourth root, use =625^(1/4).
They should not be. The row values should be 1,1,2,2,2,3,3,4,5 - otherwise, what's the point of having a customer id of 1? If there is a similar Employee table, the IDs should be showing instead of the names. Not only does your example seem to be not properly normalized, it appears to be based on lookup tables. You should avoid these like the plague. Look here The Access Web - The Evils of Lookup Fields in Tables
Allen Browne's access website is also a valuable source of learning information Microsoft Access help, tutorials, examples

Upvote 0
Haha, well that makes me feel a little better. I was thinking the exact same thing about customer ID (why have it numbered at all?). The Microsoft templates are all set up like this.

Also, thank you for the two links, I will have to spend some time perusing them.

Just to verify, "Lookup Fields", is referring to the Data Type? I.E. creating the data type with a lookup wizard based on another table?

Upvote 0