New query field based on field containing multiple information at the same time

Dsnant

Hello,

I am not an expert in Access and I am trying to simplify my task here instead of hard-coding a solution somehow.

Here is my problem:
- We do have multiple regions: Central Europe, Northern Europe, Southern Europe, North America, Central America, South America, East Asia... (21 in totals). Each region is made of multiple countries.
- We have promotions in these régions, but promotions can cover multiple regions at once. For example, a promotion can be in North America, but it could also be in all Americas at once. Therefore, the promotion would list North America, Central America and South America.
- I have a table with all countries corresponding to each region.
- My goal is to list all countries covered by the promotion.
- It is easy when a promotion is only in one region, but I am not sure how to proceed when promotion covers multiple regions.
- The format I get when a promotion covers multiple regions is "North America, Central America, South America". It is all in the same field, and this is why it is an issue.

Let me know if there is a solution, or if I should try to proceed differently.

Thanks in advance,

Excel Facts

Can Excel fill bagel flavors?
You can teach Excel a new custom list. Type the list in cells, File, Options, Advanced, Edit Custom Lists, Import, OK
The format I get when a promotion covers multiple regions is "North America, Central America, South America". It is all in the same field, and this is why it is an issue.
That is not good database design. You should never have multiple pieces of information in a single field.
You should have a separate record for each region that has a promotion, i.e.

Code:
[B]Region                Promotion[/B]
North America         Promotion1
Central America       Promotion1
South America         Promotion1
East Asia             Promotion1