New here and some general questions.

Larry D

Office Version
  1. 2013
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello everyone, it was refreshing to find this board. I am not a programmer, and never have used VBA, so I am attempting to utilize some online tutorials. I found this forum on a Google search and thought I might be able to get some advice / help in this issue. While at the same time learning more about Excel. I have read the guidelines on posting and conducted a search for the item I need help on. I found a few, but they did not specifically address my issues.

I need some advice so I don't make (too many) mistakes.
My main questions are:
1. How much detail is needed in a post, in order for everyone to understand my needs?
2. My issue involves VBA, do I copy and past what I have in the body of my post?

Thank you in advance for any and all assistance that you can give me.

Hi Larry and welcome to the board:

1. How much detail is needed:
That depends on the nature of the issue. However I urge you to describe the situation and the problem, and not your perceived solution. A sample of data, via table in the body, or even a screenshot, goes a long way. Consider simplifying the sample if it is complex, or post an excerpt.

2. Pasting VBA:
Yes, post it to the body. You will see a VBA tag in the editor. Click that and it will produce tags. Post your code within the tags. Important here again is to post an excerpt of the relevant bit(s), along with detail on any errors encountered (including error description) and reference the line of code where it breaks, should you have any runtime errors.

1. Give as much detail as posable. It also helps to post the expected results so when testing formulas/VBA code the person knows what you are expecting.