Need UDF to work from personal.xls NOT add-in for new Excel files

9tanstaafl9

I have a Crystal Report that generates a poorly formated Excel worksheet every day. I have created a macro that the users can install onto their personal.xls so that once this worksheet is generated, they can simply open it and click CTRL-Shift-F will make it all look nice for them and have proper totals etc.

My problem is that I need a UDF to total only the items that are bold in parts of the worksheet.

I have created this UDF and it works fine when in my test workbook, but not when only in the personal.xls. I am new to UDFS and don't know if this is because I am lacking in knowledge, or if it just isn't possible.

My UDF is:

Code:
Function SumIfBold(MyRange As Range) As Double

Dim cell As Range
    For Each cell In MyRange
        If cell.Font.Bold = True Then
            SumIfBold = SumIfBold + cell
        End If
    Next cell

End Function

Also, please reply in dummy-English. This is my first UDF and I don't really get them. I borrowed this from somewhere else, but it does the trick.

Thank you!

Excel Facts

Excel Wisdom
Using a mouse in Excel is the work equivalent of wearing a lanyard when you first get to college
Me again. Sorry I didn't specify the Excel version. The worksheet is exported automatically to Excel 2003, but I can have the users save it into 2010 before running the macro if needed.

Upvote 0
There are several ways to do this. One way for instant gratification is to enter the function as

Code:
=personal.xls!SumIfBold(Whatever that range is)

Or, according to the individual user,

Code:
=personal.xlsb!SumIfBold(Whatever that range is)

Upvote 0