30percent

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi,

I'm new to MS Access

I have a table with the following columns: Date, Open Price, Close Price, High Price, and Low Price.

I'm trying to query the minimum Low Price for records >#12/01/2015#

On my query, I would like it to show the corresponding row for Date, Open Price, Close Price and High Price as well.

Wonder if someone could explain to me how to do that?

Thank you!

Excel Facts

What is =ROMAN(40) in Excel?
The Roman numeral for 40 is XL. Bill "MrExcel" Jelen's 40th book was called MrExcel XL.
Create a query that gets the Min([Low Price]) where the Date is >#12/01/2015#. Go to sql view and copy the sql statement.
Create another query that uses the other fields you want, and in the Low Price field of the query design grid, paste your select statement from the other query. This statement has to be enclosed in brackets () and does not need the ending semicolon you probably brought over. That is the basic idea of how to construct a subquery statement for a query, but it's off the top of my head. Hopefully I have described it accurately enough.

This technique will likely prove useful in the future, so you should research the subject. Here is a good source that explains the concept
Microsoft Access tips: Subquery basics

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Hi,

thank you for your direction!

I wanted to select the minimum of [Low Price] from #12/01/2015# < MYTABLE.DATE < #12/15/2015# showing the following fields Date, [Open Price], [Close Price], [High Price], and [Low Price].

This is what I have:

SELECT DATE, [Open Price], [Close Price], [High Price], [Low Price]
FROM MYTABLE
WHERE (((MYTABLE.DATE)>#12/1/2015# And (MYTABLE.DATE)<#12/15/2015#));

However, I couldn't figure out how to incorporate the criteria Min value from [Low Price]

I tried the following but it wouldn't work. I changed to Min([Low Price]).

SELECT DATE, [Open Price], [Close Price], [High Price], Min([Low Price])
FROM MYTABLE