MS Access Newbie

MNM2903

Hi all,

Im new to the forums here basically my dad has a business cleaning wheelie bins and has a customer base of 2.6k.

Hes currently using excel spreadsheets and puts all data in manually which is basically Name, Address, Frequency they have the bin cleaned I.E Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly. It also shows how much they have outstanding and wether they have paid or not. Each clean is £2.50 i was just wondering if anyone could point me in the direction of a tutorial or even if you can get templates of databases to hold this information with options to add new customers etc.

I would love to just give someone the info and what i want but unfortunatly i dont have the funds for that ha so im just learning myself and doing the best i can to help him organise his workload better.

Any advice/help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Excel Facts

Excel Joke
Why can't spreadsheets drive cars? They crash too often!
spend some time working over the northwind sample database, that has customers and other areas to get a feel of

Upvote 0
Welcome to the Board!

There are also several pre-built Customer database templates if you goto File-->New.

The biggest thing is to thoughtfully layout your tables will all of the fields you'll ever want (it's easier to structure them now even if you don't need them than it is to add them later). Here's an idea for some tables:

Customers:
CustomerID (auto-number field)
Company Name
Contact Name (Last, First)
Phone
Address
etc.

Bin Types
Bin ID
Bin Size
Price

Frequency
FrequencyID (auto-number)
Frequency (Daily, Weekly, Fortnight, etc.)

Details
DetailID (auto-number)
CustomerID
Bin Size
Bin Count
Frequency

Transactions
TransactionID (auto-number)
CustomerID
Date
BinID
Cost