Modelling jobs?

poiu

Excel Facts

Get help while writing formula
Click the italics "fx" icon to the left of the formula bar to open the Functions Arguments dialog. Help is displayed for each argument.
Poiu,

No expert on the financial sector but stockbroking companies, hedge funds and banks would be seem to be the logical choice.

Like a lot of jobs that you think would suit anyone with an internet connection, many may want you in their offices.

If you are going to work for the financial sector, I suggest you have some experience or qualifications in the area. Being an Excel expert would not be enough. You have to know what the figures 'mean' (ie the difference between current and non current liabilities, the difference between profit and free cash flow).

hope that helps.

Thanks very much. I am a qualified accountant but in an (blue chip) engineering firm. Do you think a London city finance company would be interested in me? I was pondering doing some contract work to get my foot in the door...

Having an accounting degree and experience within a commerical environment, would be a big plus.

London would be a start, being a major financial hub within Europe.

Contracting would be a good start but remember you might have to compete with cheaper options from around the world.

Last time I looked into work in London (a few months back), the jobs were demanding considerable skills and qualification for comparatively little money. London is expensive to live in or commute to so I think there are better options outside of London. Course I could be very wrong, but when I was looking for Excel/Finance related contracts in London that was the impression I got. Seems that to land any decent job I either need to have significant SQL/C programming skills, or be a blooming mathematician... I was admittedly looking at the banking industry.

Amongst other things, I employ modellers in banking / financial services industry. Some random thoughts: