Making a list form

Harvey

Hi,

I am kind of new to programming with Access, but I have some VBA knowledge.
My problem is the following:
I have a form containing a list of persons from a database, with name, last name and address.
I want the name, last name and address all to appear in one text label, that the user cannot edit.
In other words, I want to create a list based on the database, where the user can browse through.
What is the best way to achieve this?

I'm sorry if someone already poasted this before, but I had no clue about where to search for.

Thanks for any replies.

Excel Facts

Get help while writing formula
Click the italics "fx" icon to the left of the formula bar to open the Functions Arguments dialog. Help is displayed for each argument.
In the form's query try something like this.

All:[Name]&[LastName]&[Address]

replace the field names between [] with your own.

Or you could use a combobox/listbox. Try adding one to your form and following the wizard.

Upvote 0
Thanks. I only cannot seem to make it working :( If I enter anything like that, I have some kind of error, or it doesnt show anything.
A combobox or listbox is not really an option I think, because I want to have other information in the list also, like birthday and other things. The way it is shown in a list form (dunno whats the english name for it) is ok. I only do not want the user to be able to edit it.

Upvote 0
Hi, if you want to show fields on your form that you do not want the user to edit, then go into the form design, right click the field you don't want the user to edit, click properties -> select the 'Data' tab -> either set 'Enabled' to 'No' (the user then can't select that field) or set 'Locked' to 'Yes' (user can select the field but can't change it).
HTH, Andrew :)

Upvote 0
Hi,
thanks for the reply.