Macro to Update Master Table with partial data from Source Table

wiseone

Board Regular
Hi All,

New problem I'm trying to get an idea on how to execute with VB.

I have a master table with 100 columns and 5000 rows (Table 1).

I also have a source data table in another workbook which is only 10 columns and 500 rows (TABLE 2) (which have 10 matching column headers to TABLE 1).

Both tables have a column A with unique identifiers, But table 2 may have less of them. For both tables, each column may or may not have data.

Any ideas on how to make a macro which will overwrite the cells in TABLE 1 with data from TABLE 2 with the corresponding data ONLY if the data is different than what is already in TABLE 1 and leave blank if blank?

The Master Table (TABLE1) - Holds a master list of unique identifiers and does not need to call any new identifers in (TABLE 2).

All cells must be values only.

Thanks in Advance!

Example:

MASTER TABLE - TABLE 1:
ABCDEFGH~DC
1aaayes10etc
2bbb20
3cccno10
4dddyes
5eeeno10
6fff
7gggyes50
8hhhno40
9iiiyes

<tbody>
</tbody>

Source Table - TABLE2
ABCDEFGH
1aaa55
2dddno20
3gggno50

<tbody>
</tbody>

RESULT - Updated Master Table (TABLE 1)

ABCDEFGH~DC
1aaayes55etc
2bbb20
3cccno10
4dddno20
5eeeno10
6fff
7gggno50
8hhhno40
9iiiyes

<tbody>
</tbody>

Last edited:

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.
See if this code works as required. Points to note:

1. Put the code in a standard module in a macro-enabled copy of your Master workbook (save as .xlsm). The code can be easily changed if you prefer the macro to run from a separate (3rd) workbook.
2. Edit the code where indicated to specify the full path and file name of the Source table workbook. That is the only change needed.
3. The Master table is expected to be in the first worksheet of the Master workbook.
4. The Source table is expected to be in the first worksheet of the Source workbook.