Macro to Hide Rows that contain specific Values...

diqbal

I need to create a macro that looks at every row in a worksheet and checks to see if columns C-H all have a value of "-" and if this is true it hides the row. It then keeps running for 9 more worksheets that are identical to the first one for all intents and purposes.

The logical reason for this is that I am creating a sheet that pulls in values from an external source and I want to hide all the rows that have no values so as to not have a lot of rows with just dashes in them.

Please help as I am an extreme newbie to Excel Macros. Thanks. :)

Excel Facts

Who is Mr Spreadsheet?
Author John Walkenbach was Mr Spreadsheet until his retirement in June 2019.
Welcome to the board.

Try turning on the macro recorder and using autofilter. That should get you started.

Upvote 0
Something like this will do it for 1 sheet. I'll amend it for more than one sheet if you like.

Sub HideColumns()
For n = 1 To 65536 'All Rows
With Worksheets("Sheet1")
For c = 3 To 8 'Columns C to H
If .Cells(n, c) <> "-" Then Exit For
If c = 8 Then .Rows(n).Hidden = True
Next c
End With
Next n
End Sub

Upvote 0
Try copying this. This is only for 3 sheets, but you can amend it for as many as you want (10 altogether?). Just add more Cases in the Select case, and change the names of the sheet to what to you want. Make sure you also change For S = 1 to 10. It may take a few seconds to run, but it'll be quicker than doing it by hand!

Sub HideRowsOnAllSheets()

Dim Sht As Worksheet
Dim S As Byte, Col As Byte
Dim Row As Long
Dim ShtName As String

Application.ScreenUpdating = False

For S = 1 To 3 '1 to number of sheets, eg 3 in this example
Select Case S
Case 1: ShtName = "Sheet1" 'Type the names of each sheet (in "")
Case 2: ShtName = "Sheet2"
Case 3: ShtName = "Sheet3" 'Add other cases, eg Case 4:
End Select 'Make sure the no of Case's is the same as max S

Set Sht = Worksheets(ShtName)
For Row = 1 To 65536 'All Rows
With Sht