loop?

SB

Hopefully someone can help me with this. I'm new to Access and am having trouble.
I have data in a table for a number of cities. For instance;

Montreal 52
Ottawa 71
Toronto 46
Winnipeg 33
Vancouver 60

In my query I need to perform an operation on all the data and then divide each record by the base city value, in this case Toronto. Is their a simple way to combine the two operations? Perhaps some looping macro or an array function? I have to do this many times so eliminating a step would be much better.

Thanks

Excel Facts

Lock one reference in a formula
Need 1 part of a formula to always point to the same range? use $ signs: $V$2:$Z$99 will always point to V2:Z99, even after copying
Hullo. This is rather simple, and can be done in the query. Depending on the operation you need to perform, simply have a new field, with a formula as such:
Code:
 NEWFIELD: [tblYourTable].[CityCode]/[operation result]
That should get you rolling.

HTH (y)

P

Upvote 0
You had suggested;

NEWFIELD: [tblYourTable].[CityCode]/[operation result]

where the "[tblYourTable].[CityCode]" would be the initial mathematical operation and as I understand you are suggesting to enter the actual value to be divided by in "[operation result]".

This obviously works fine. However, when the intial data is updated the value calculated from the first operation will change and so must the "[operation result]". I need some sort of way to reference that calculated value without creating a circular reference. Or else I will have to alter the values manually every time I update the info.

Thanks though, any other ideas?

Upvote 0
Your last post is quite different from your first. Perhaps you could go into more detail about what you want to do? When you say,
However, when the intial data is updated the value calculated from the first operation will change and so must the "[operation result]".