lookup fields in tables are bad practice? What's the alternative?

merlin777

Office Version
  1. 2007
I'm an Access novice and I'm building tables.

I tried changing a datatype in a table to 'lookup wizard' so i could enter data in that field from a list of items in another table.

I was given some errors as a result, researched the issue and I find this is bad practice (mainly because it leaves an underlying number to work with).

I'm happy to accept this is the case but what's thhe alternative? I haven't moved on to forms yet - i'd like to get mytables set up.

Thanks IA

Excel Facts

Pivot Table Drill Down
Double-click any number in a pivot table to create a new report showing all detail rows that make up that number
Your alternative is to do your lookups in your form which is bound to the table you have established. Just keep it as an open item until you get to building your forms.

Upvote 0
Thanks for that Alan. I'm not quite understanding a couple of those things.

Do you mean the table I was trying to put the data in or the table that contains my list of items?

What do you mean by 'keep it as open item'?

Upvote 0
Look at this link and scroll down to combo boxes. There are three tutorials that will show you how. "Keep it as an open item" means that it is on your to do list when you get around to building your forms.

DataPig Technologies Access Videos

Upvote 0
If you are wanting to change data in the fields of a table why don't you use an update qry based on an identifier? Otherwise if it is new data to the table you could use an append qry. Both would allow you to add data to a table without having to have knowledge of forms.

Upvote 0
i'll take a look at that but, novice as i am, 'form' seems a lot simpler than 'use an update qry based on an identifier'....