Keep the 1st 24 and last 7 characters of a text string

Mr_Ragweed

Board Regular
Hi all. I'm using excel2010. I've been searching the posts for a solution and everyhting always seems to be in reverse of what i need. I have text strings of varying length and are all unique. All i want to do is keep the first 24 characters and the last 7 characters (=31 so i can name the worksheet tab with the result). It's part of a loop that first replaces all invalid characters, then does a LEN count and removes all spaces anytine LEN>31. The next part of the loop is to recount the character length and anything still over 31 characters edit down in the way i described.
I kinda get the formula version in that =Left(A2, 24) would give me the first 24 and =Right(A2, 7) would give me the last seven. However, thats a formula and not VBA and i'm not good at converting some formulas to VBA. Also i've seen the "MID" function used, again either in formula form or used to retrieve a known length of characters from a string.

I'm sure i'll be embarassed at how simple this solution is. Thanks in advance - this forum has gotten me farther along in my project than i should be.

Excel Facts

Can Excel fill bagel flavors?
You can teach Excel a new custom list. Type the list in cells, File, Options, Advanced, Edit Custom Lists, Import, OK
Thanks for the quick reply. Doing exactly what you said as you responded. I recorded the formula as a macro and am trying to manipulate it accordingly now.

The formula version that works is: =Left(A2,24) & Right(A2,7)
...but i'm sure almost everyone already knew that :)

Upvote 0
Thanks Rick, but that's still a formula and i'm stuck in the VBA conversion of the formula I posted above.
[My Code Starts Here]

Sub AdjustCharacterLength()
'Keyboard shortcut:Ctrl+A
Dim ws As Worksheet
Set ws = Worksheets("Sheet1")
Dim FinalRow As Long
Dim lngLoopCtr As Long
FinalRow = Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row
ws.Range("A" & FinalRow).Select
For lngLoopCtr = 1 To FinalRow