Just wanted to say...

Ixia

Thank you to forum members for being here and for being so helpful. I'm a relative newbie to the forum who's posted a couple of questions re formulas in Excel and I've always received quick responses that solved my problems. I just wanted to let you know how much I appreciate your help and patience.

Since I've found this forum I've learned a lot from reading the various threads and have gotten ideas of new things to try. I'm not into programming but VBA is even starting to look interesting because of it's power :laugh:

Ixia

Excel Facts

Format cells as time
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+2 to format cells as time. (Shift 2 is the @ sign).
I'm glad you get the help you want in this forum.
Just tought I would give you a little warning about VBA.

Excel can do a lot without VBA, and you should learn as much as you can about Excels features before you start using VBA.

Sometimes a newbie on this board asks a question and gets some VBA code as an answer, when it could be solved with formulas (and maybe a little redesign of how you set up your data)

Starting to use VBA before you realy know the power of Excel, will in most cases result in users struggeling with VBA code instead of learning how to design a worksheet the right way.

Good luck on exploring Excel.:)

Excel can do a lot without VBA, and you should learn as much as you can about Excels features before you start using VBA.

By and large I would agree with that assessment. We definitely do get many newbies that say "I need a macro to..." when in fact they don't need a macro at all.

And paying attention to good worksheet/workbook/data design is also very good advice.

But I would disagree a smidgeon in that I would not shy away from VBA if it's the right tool for the job. With VBA whole new realms of possibility do become possible. The trick is not to see everything as a nail once you learn how to use the VBA hammer.