Insert rows into alphabetical list and keep data aligned.

RedOctoberKnight

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Good Morning,

I'm currently working on a scheduling tool for work. I have a "Master" sheet that has everybody's name and work schedules for every day of the week. I then have sheets for every day of the schedule period that contains a position assignment and a daily log that get's faxed to our payroll department daily. Example of the daily log below.

last
first
EE
Schedule
Actual
SCO
OT
DT
LWOP
Remarks
Averill
N
0430-1300
STW 1230-2100 Barnes
Awadallah
B
1145-2015
Barnes
C
1230-2100
STO Averill/STW 1230-2100 Diaz
Bass
E
OFF

<tbody>
</tbody>

Last, First, EE, and Schedule columns are all formulated to pull information off the "Master" sheet. Remarks are simply add daily to that specific sheet. The problem I'm running into is when I add a new employee, and sort alphabetically, the remarks don't remain in the same row as the original employee. So if I add employee last name BAKER, it would sort it in between Awadallah and Barnes. But the comments that are currently in for Barnes would now be on Baker's row. If that makes any sense....

Is there a way to be able to insert a new employee into the "master" sheet and have all the comments for each employee follow them on there respective rows?

Any info would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

Excel Facts

Formula for Yesterday
Name Manager, New Name. Yesterday =TODAY()-1. OK. Then, use =YESTERDAY in any cell. Tomorrow could be =TODAY()+1.
Last, First, EE, and Schedule columns are all formulated to pull information off the "Master" sheet. Remarks are simply add daily to that specific sheet.
I think your problem is your structure.
If the first few columns are formulas, but remarks are hard-coded, I can see how things get out of alignment.
I would recommend putting the remarks on the Master sheet also, so they are correlated with with a specific name (and not a reference formula).