Importing Data ??

BLONDIE2

I am a newbie at Access2000 (although experienced with computers and some work with Excel) and need some help please.

I have a Access database complete with Forms,Reports, Queries, Switchboard, and Tables. The users have to fill in (repeatedly on different forms/reports) Names, Record numbers, etc. There is an ODBC database available which contains all of this data that I would like to ACCESS (PUN INTENDED, :rolleyes: forgive me).

PROBLEM: I can't seem to pull this into Access as I need to (I've done it in Excel, but need to expand to Access for more usefullness).

How do I set up criteria or request for paramater values---something like this...Where STATUS="A" and REC_NUM = [#########] (where user inputs a nine-digit record number). Once it pulls THIS (and ONLY THIS) record, I need it to populate approx. 15 fields that are associated with this record number. If I can put this on one page(like a spreadsheet???), I can link it to other pages/forms/reports (I think).

Eventually, I want it to:1--automatically ask for this number at startup AND
2--have a command button to PRINT, Save records, Clear input fields, and ask for another record number.

Can anyone help me get started on this QUERY????
Thank you so much!

BLONDIE2

Excel Facts

Spell Check in Excel
Press F7 to start spell check in Excel. Be careful, by default, Excel does not check Capitalized Werds (whoops)
My suggestion to self-teach is this:

Create a query based on a local table (in the Access mdb you're working in) - use the QBE wizard (query by example) to make a base query.
While in design mode, in the 'Criteria' row, pick a field (column) that has text values in it (in the table it's based upon) and type in a valid text value that matches one or more entries.

Don't add any quotes. As you exit the field it should put quotes around it automatically as you leave the "cell".

Run it. It should only return valid matches for the parameter you entered.