I'm crashing Excel with AutoFilter.Apply

lucky_sevans

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I'm relatively new to Excel and VBA, so please be patient if I screw up terminology. I've had many questions answered here over the last month while working on this project so it seemed the best place to ask for help. This may not be necessary but for context it is a project for my sister who is a real-estate agent. The application is tracking the inventory she uses for staging. The particular sheet I am having issue with is a table which contains several fields and is used for her to choose items from her inventory to utilize for a new listing. The filtering is used to "Narrow down" the items to view just the items she is interested in at that moment. There is a field "Category" which could be "Furniture", "Appliances", "Wall Hangings", "Plants", etc. and I have created a Slicer for this field. The other field of interest is called "Rooms" and is a list of room abbreviations the item is appropriate for. A toaster probably will only have "KI" in this field while a Bar Stool may have "KI/DI" in this field. A large framed painting could very well have "DI/LV/BD" and a houseplant could have "*" in the field.
tablepic.jpg

Since I could not use this field as is for a slicer, I created an "Admin" table on my Admin sheet with just room abbreviations that contains just 2 fields, each abbreviation and
Excel Formula:
[B]=SUBTOTAL(3, $A1)[/B]
(A trick I picked up here which is used to indicate that the row is visible). Thus I have a slicer on this sheet, which references the table on the Admin sheet. In order to make this work I have a "helper" column in my INVENTORY table with the formula
Excel Formula:
[B]=OR([@Rooms]="*",IF(TEXTSPLIT([@Rooms],"/")=IF(tblROOMS_FOR_SLICER[Column2],tblROOMS_FOR_SLICER[Column1]),1,0))[/B]
. This works and I get an appropriate TRUE/FALSE answer in the Helper1 field. The table has autofilters for NumAvail (> 0) and Helper1 (=TRUE).