i'm a little frustrated with vba

kylefoley76

i'm trying to teach myself vba for excel. it's not that easy. i need it to analyze forex data which is what i do for a living, i day trade the forex market. 95% of the time when you work on the forex market is downtime so i have a lot of time to study vba. anyway, i've been able to master 10 foreign langauges including arabic, sanskrit, ancient greek and heiroglyphs which are not easy languages and i also have the ability to study for 14 hours straight and although i've only been studying excel vba for 5 weeks i'm a little discouraged and think i might not be able to get to the level i want.

here's the problem, the books or videos i consult only take you about a 1/20th of the way there, or they either assume you know a lot and so you can't understand what they're talking about. the examples they give are either too easy so they're useless towards helping you understand the real complex stuff, or they're too hard so you can't understand them.

i've gone through mrexcel's live lessons, vtc.com's videos, excel vba for the absolute beginner, excel programming inside and out and i still feel as though i'm only 5% of the way there.

i'm paying a russian 25$ an hour to help me but i'm skeptical that he can help me get to the level i want.

here's my question. did you guys have prior programming experience? did you take a course in programming? was it just something you've been doing all your life? how long do you think it will take before i get really good at excel vba? do a lot of people have my problem?

Excel Facts

Save Often
If you start asking yourself if now is a good time to save your Excel workbook, the answer is Yes
I learned firstly by recording macros in Excel and Word and pulling them apart to see how they worked.

From there moved on to pulling other peoples code apart and working out what it did.

I was a professional VBA developer for years based on skills gained with this method.

Since then