I need help with value name if field contains string?

Infiltrator64

Board Regular
I have a query and one of the columns named userID contains user names that end with strings like _atl, _dal ect..

I want to build either another query, report, form (not sure how best to do this) that will contain a new column called "Region". If the value in the userID column contains "_atl" i want ot Region value to be "Atlanta" if it contains "_dal" I want the value to be "Dallas".

I am very new to Access. I have done this in excel by adding formulas in new columns that expand with the query however I have no idea how to duplicate this in an Access query.

Please help if you can.

Excel Facts

How to show all formulas in Excel?
Press Ctrl+` to show all formulas. Press it again to toggle back to numbers. The grave accent is often under the tilde on US keyboards.
Is it just Dallas or Atlanta?

Upvote 0
To show what you can do, make a new query. If the field of honor is Field1, put these 3 fields in the query:
Field1
foo: InStr([field1],"_")
bar: Mid([field1],[foo]+1)
Running that query produces everything after the first underscore as output field bar.

I've assumed that you use the Access graphic query builder. I'm not sure that those are available in Jet SQL per se; I've only used Instr and Mid in the Query Builder.

This is simplistic, just to show you how you can get to what you want. For example, foo and bar could be done in one step.

As to your wondering where to do this, my advice would be either
1. use this logic in each query that needs the city suffix;
or if you find that several queries need it, and you can afford the overhead of lodging it in the table, and are tired of typing it in many queries,
2. Add a field to the table, and use this logic as an Update Query.