How to pass a SQL to a text box in a form

khexcel

Board Regular
Hi,
I am fairly new in Access and programming. Can someone let me know if it is possible to pass the value from an SQL statement directly to a text box in a form. eg Txtbox1.value= "select value from table where id =4". The form is not tied to the table the SQL is selecting from. If possible, please let me know. If not possible, is DLOOKUP the best option to bring a value to the text box?

Since I am not good in programming, please explain in detail.

Thanks

Excel Facts

Can you AutoAverage in Excel?
There is a drop-down next to the AutoSum symbol. Open the drop-down to choose AVERAGE, COUNT, MAX, or MIN
Hi khexcel

This can be done with the forms current event, like So:

Code:
Private Sub Form_Current()
    Dim vara

If IsNull(Text2.Value) = True Then
        Exit Sub
    End If

vara = Me.Text2

Me.Text1 = "SELECT <FieldValueHere> FROM <TableNameHere> WHERE ID = '" & vara & "'"

End Sub

Now, every time you change any data in your form the value in Text1 will be evaluated and will reflect the value that relates to the value in Text2. So, if the value in Text2 is 5 then the Name (in our examples case) that refers to the record with 5 as a value of the ID field will be shown in the control. If the value in Text2 = 25 then....

The If IsNull(Text2.Value) = True bit just stops the error that would pop up if Text2 had no data in it. When you open a form that is not bound to a table then the controls will have Null values in them.

Of course you will substitute your control names and table and field names for Text1, Text2, FieldValueHere and TableNameHere for you own names. Just paste the code into the Form code window, change those names and try it out. back up your database before you try things in case something should go terribly wrong!!

Try that!

anvil19
:eek:

Upvote 0
Hi,
Thanks for your response.