How to Create a MainForm with 2 SubForms

terylgirl

Hello, I'm new to access and I need some help with creating a main form with two subforms, I'd like to filter records based on a selection from a list box of groupnames,(on main form) and have the two subforms show subform1 (from tbl1) projects and subform2 (from tbl2) project updates and somehow link the two subforms so when I select a project in subform1, subform2 shows its updates. I hope that made sense....I really need some help. Thanks! :(

Excel Facts

Spell Check in Excel
Press F7 to start spell check in Excel. Be careful, by default, Excel does not check Capitalized Werds (whoops)
Hi terylgirl

I think this might help you out...You design your main table and all the tables if any to be linked...Now I'll use examples here to hopefully get what I'm trying to say to you ....
tbl : Hot rods
In this table you list every know hot rods which has color, year, location, and if parts are hard find ( yes/No) check box....
Now you want ones that are located in North America to be in one form and International in another form....
If you built a location table and linked it to the main table hot rods you can use the numbers to get the information to go into another form by using queries....
when using the query wizard chose the table in this one it be hot rods....
then click the double arrow to bring all the information over then click next.
once you've chosen the clor and style of your query...Then click on the view button it looks like a blueish green triangle this will bring you into the design veiw of your query...You'll see columns of all you titles you have such as color, year, location, and if parts are hard find ( yes/No) check box....
Now if you go to location and use the autonumber that you get when you design your tables this will allow you to have North America in one Internationals in another...By doing this
You'll See listed the following field,tbl,sort,criteria,or