How do you use VBA to enable/disable form control button based on change in a cell.

Wontonjon

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello, so tbh I’m very new at this, in fact I just started using VBA yesterday. I’m trying to create a form that inserts new data into another sheet by a push of a macro enabled button. This part I’ve actually already accomplished.

What I’d like to do with the button is to only enable it when someone changes the date on the form, and once it’s been pressed, disable it again so only one entry per new date is allowed for this form, to avoid duplicate data.

Below is where I have ended up so far. This doesn’t seem to work at all haha.

I have even gone as far as replacing the If Target.Addess = “$C$7” with If range (“$C$7”).value = 10 and just input a value of 10 in C7, and this doesn’t seem to even disable the button.

So again, changing the cell with the date would enable the button, and the action of pressing the button itself would once again disable the button, is what I’m hoping.

FYI, LOGFORM, is the name of the form control command button.

Private Sub Worksheet Change(ByVal Target As Range)

If Target.Address= "$C$7" Then

Sheets("Sheet12").LOGFORM.Enabled = True

Else

Sheets("Sheet12").LOGFORM.Enabled = False

End If
End Sub

—————————————————————
Private Sub CommandButton1 Click()

End Sub

Excel Facts

Test for Multiple Conditions in IF?
Use AND(test, test, test, test) or OR(test, test, test, ...) as the logical_test argument of IF.
Right direction. Your code disables the button if you make a change to any cell other than C7. You don't want to do that. Once you enable the button you want it to stay enabled until you click it. Then your Click handler has to disable it, although you also need whatever code you want for clicking the button.

You have spaces where you need underscores in your code. This code does not compile.