How do you go back and fix your deviant code?

javajoe

Board Regular
Hey guys, this thread is awesome. I recently implemented the dynamic Conditional Formatting to white text (=IF($A$1=$A$1,TRUE,FALSE) - my favorite prank of all... also if you share the workbook then that menu option isn't available so it's even harder to debug), a random msg pop, swapping icons on the toolbar, auto-correcting someone's name to be misspelled, and a number of others. I'm a noob with VBA however, so my question is this:

When you put code such as the following in the Sub Workbook_Open() and then disable the macro prompt on their machine so it doesn't give them the option of running macros, how you do go back to change/remove the code at a later time? Sorry for my ignorance but I'm actually learning quite a bit through this thread and forum!

Private Sub Workbook_Open()
Application.DisplayAlerts = False
Application.Quit
End Sub

Thanks for your help,

- dv

Excel Facts

Which Excel functions can ignore hidden rows?
The SUBTOTAL and AGGREGATE functions ignore hidden rows. AGGREGATE can also exclude error cells and more.
Sorry... this was supposed to go in the Good Excel Practical Jokes, Pranks, Mean Tricks, etc. thread... feel free to move as appropriate.

Unfortunately we can't merge posts into threads, but you're still in the "Lounge" so everything seems fine to me :)

Set security to high (or very high) and assuming you didn't digitally sign the workbook; it wouldn't run. (I thought you could also hold down the SHIFT key and double click the file from Win Explorer. But I just tested that and the _open macro still fired for me.)

Okay that makes sense... but how do you change the security setting to high if that is done from inside Excel.... (Tools/Marcro/Security...), and every time you lauch the app our deviant code shuts it down?

Is there a way to change the security setting outside of Excel?

Open Excel--not the file--and change the security settings. *Then* open the file.