Help with Access

smartinez512

So I've been keeping record of sports stats and picks for a group of friends and it has become overwhelming within excel. I have used a number of formulas throughout for getting the data I need and would hope there is some way to convert these formulas in access. I must preface with I have never used access before. My data set it quite extensive so I will only put a sample of what I have in the hopes of some guidance.

Here are the column headers that I have. My current data set contains approximately 25,000 rows of data going back over a year. My goal would be to be able to create a database that would allow me to mass update with an import at a future time that would update each of the member records with their pick history.

Member PickDate, PickLeague, PickGame, PickScore, PickLine, Outcome

At some point, I would like to include another set of data that would include the following:

Type, Date, Time, Pick, Visitor, Home, Line, Pick%, PickValue, Correct, Score

The second set of data would be pulled from a completely different source where the only information that would be similar or constant would be PickDate/Date, PickGame/Visitor,Home (I understand that I would most likely have to seperate PickGame in a Visitor,Home format), PickLine /Line, PickScore/Score and Outcome/Correct. As I mentioned the second set of data has no relation to the Member in the first data set. The end result would be to compare stats on Member data and results of second data set.

Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December
This is kind of tricky with no database experience, you need to put some thought in to how to design your tables and how to store your data.

I would say you start with two tables:

1. Member_Picks

2. Outcomes

Member_Picks would contain almost everything you listed: