Help with a simple sorting problem...please

sssb2000

hi,
i'm VERY new to access and i have this sheet which i need to sort...
i have a column with identifiers (they are repeated many times) and in the second column, i have a type.
what i need is to say: for each of those individual first column's identifiers, i want to add up all the same types in column 2!
So if in column 1 i have:

a
a
b
b
b
c

and in col. 2 i have

cat
cat
dog
cat
cat
bird

i want to keep track of the number of cats/dogs/birds each a, b, or c has.
in this case it would be presented as:

a cat 2
b dog 1
b dog 2
c bird 1

is this doable in access? if so, would you pleaes help me?
(y)

Excel Facts

Format cells as date
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+3 to format cells as date. (Shift 3 is the # sign which sort of looks like a small calendar).
The required result you have given doesn't seem to match the data given.

Apart from that you could use a query like this:

SELECT Table1.Identifier, Table1.Type, Count(Table1.Type) AS CountOfType
FROM Table1
GROUP BY Table1.Identifier, Table1.Type;

Which gives, based on your data the following result: