Hello *Future Computer Jobs* What should I Learn?

Buildology

I am new to the the Mr Excel Forum and what a great resource.

I am considering going back to college or a computer tech school. I am 49 with little computer experience dating back to window 3.1.
The home building business has been played out for 30 years.
So my question would be; What type of computer specialty would be in the most demand down the road. I think MY skill set would not accommodate programming. But if I where to go back and retool myself, what would make the most sense. I would have to do something that would allow me to be
in demand and therefor quickly get a good job upon finishing training.

Any advice will be very much appreciated Thanks
Bill

Last edited:

Excel Facts

Convert text numbers to real numbers
Select a column containing text numbers. Press Alt+D E F to quickly convert text to numbers. Faster than "Convert to Number"
Hi Bill,

Programming on a non-software distributed means, tends to be a means to the end. So the trickier part is figuring out what the end-game is, and which tool best suits your needs as the means.

I build financial models, Excel works for me. That could change with personalities. What do you want you want build? :)

Welcome to the Board!

I'd first ask what you enjoy doing. If you have a background in homebuilding, what was your (to use a buzz-phrase) core competency? How can you make that come to play? You probably won't have any fun learning something new just for the sake of learning it, then trying to make yourself saleable based off of that.

How about taking what you know and enjoy and basing your new career off of that?

For example, I got to play with a Microsoft program called Visio this year and designed complete floor plans for our new office. I was later called on to build more plans for other offices, because our current facilities guy (very old school) does it all with pencil and ruler with renderings the landlord/realtor sends him.