Have a look at my Excel project...the "Retireator"

Celly

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Greetings!

So I'm a software engineer by trade and have been working on building my own retirement simulator. I was frustrated by the inflexibility and limitations of the available free tools I could find, so clearly it made sense to build my own totally from scratch rather than shell out for a paid one. :LOL: So enter the Retireator. This started off as my personal financial planner, and evolved into a fairly sophisticated platform. I decided to release it as free software GPL'd under GNU Affero v3.0. It is hosted as a public open source project on GitHub just for fun. So I've been working on it in my spare time for about two years and launched a basic website for it in September of this year. Downloads are hosted there now. The first "annuitized" version was released today (v2016.1127). There are numerous links from the Retireator to online documentation on my website.

Architecturally, the Retireator is two simulations: an "outer" simulation from 1954 to 80 years from now, and an "inner" simulation from any start date to the configured life expectancy. The outer simulation mostly calculates Social Security earnings, while the inner simulation calculates everything else. Both simulations are written entirely using Excel formulas, without any dependency on VBA. I feel this design gives the best stability, portability, and performance.

VBA is required, however, to complete the Setup process and bring the simulation online. VBA is also required for the Dashboard to operate. However, once the Setup process has been completed, the xlsx file can be used in Excel Online with quite a bit of functionality intact if desired. So the full version of Excel with macros enabled must be used the first time it is opened (and does continue to provide the best overall experience).