General Question about Access+Excel

tuckerharris

Hello Mr. Excel Community!

I have a general question about what MS Access may be able to do for me and my data needs. I am very new to Access although I have created some company databases in a few of my classes for product/customer tracking.

I currently have an Excel workbook created which tracks the WIN/LOSS/PUSH results for predictions made on sports betting outcomes. I have to manually input the predictions made by each individual and then manually input the outcomes once they are determined. After inputting this data manually, the records become calculated automatically.

Instead of manually inputting the predictions, I wanted to see if I could create a form and embed it onto my webpage for users to input their predictions. Once they input their predictions on the form, it would upload to my Access database (or directly into Excel if possible?). The form would also need to pull in current data such as Teams and their against the spread (ATS) line with which to make predictions on.

Is this something MS Access could do? Do you see any potential benefits to using Access given what I'm trying to do?

Thanks so much for your advice! Any and all feedback is appreciated!

Excel Facts

Show numbers in thousands?
Use a custom number format of #,##0,K. Each comma after the final 0 will divide the displayed number by another thousand
I'm guilty of looking but not answering - because web interaction with a database is outside of my expertise. Been working in Access a long time, but not to that extent. Might be beyond most people in this forum too. I can visualize linking to a bunch of spreadsheets sent to you by others, and then working with that in Access, but not only is it not what you asked for, Excel is better at crunching numbers anyway. You might be further ahead creating a Userform in Excel as far as that goes, but again, not what you want.