Formula result memory

Branagorn

I've been using excel for a few years now, I'm a little familiar with alot of things, but perhaps rusty when it comes to more indepth/technical stuff. Macros and VBA dont completely scare me, but I couldnt begin to start writing my own code from scratch.

I'm going to have a large database of data fields being populated over time. It will be much larger, but lets say for examples sake, they would cover a field of A1:G18. (Perhaps in future either I'll make this field either the maximum excel offers, or find a way for it to cleverly expand itself to the last row with data entered).

My task is to create a Dashboard that monitors the gathering of this data. This could be text, numbers, dates, not relevent what it is. For now I am just concerning myself with completed cells. Using COUNTA(A1:G18) for now. Simple

What I want to be able to do, is monitor and assess the gathering of this data over time. So I was thinking, is there a way to get the spreadsheet to assess in a column on a seperate sheet. What the overall number of completed cells was, at the end of each month, or week.

Maybe this idea requires a completely different approach to what Im thinking, but my first thought is something like.

Oct 14:
Formula that checks if today is after October, If it is, saves the value (COUNTA(A1:G18), dosent change in future / Removes cell entry as being a formula
Nov 14:
Formula that checks if today is after November, If it is, saves the value (COUNTA(A1:G18), dosent change in future / Removes cell entry as being a formula
Dec 14:
Formula that checks if today is after December, If it is, saves the value (COUNTA(A1:G18), dosent change in future / Removes cell entry as being a formula
Jan 15:
Formula that checks if today is after January, If it is, saves the value (COUNTA(A1:G18), dosent change in future / Removes cell entry as being a formula
Feb 15: