Formula for members in a field

ringmaker

Board Regular
Hi - I am a MS Access beginner. I am using access instead of excel (where I am much more savvy) because my data set is huge and moving slowly. I have successly created an Access Pivot Table Form however I would like to create a formula which subtracts the items/members within one field from others within that field.

Here is an example of my data:

Proj Account Oct Nov Dec
ProjA Rev 100 150 200
Wages 25 35 40
Travel 5 3 1
Other Costs 3 0 1
ProjB Rev 200 300 400
Wages 50 70 80
Travel 10 6 2
Other Costs 6 0 2

I would like to create a formula of items within the account field. Namely Gross Profit = Rev - Wages - Travel - Other Costs. I'd like this new calculation to sit within the account field. I know this must be a snap but I can't seem to figure it out. Thanks in advance for your help.

Excel Facts

Best way to learn Power Query?
Read M is for (Data) Monkey book by Ken Puls and Miguel Escobar. It is the complete guide to Power Query.
My suggestion is start small - such as with a simple query instead of a pivot table which has somewhat more complex rules on structure. Am just suggesting you test the below before you try adding it to the pivot table.

Access syntax for adding fields is in the QBE wizard is:

CalcFieldName: [fieldname1] + [fieldname2] +[fieldnameN]

Concatenation (grabbing multiple fields and connecting them into a single field is:

ConcatFieldName: [fieldname1] & [fieldname2] & [fieldnameN]

Inserting fun things like spaces between them would be:

ConcatFieldName: [fieldname1] & " " & [fieldname2] & " " & [fieldnameN]

The [] brackets are also useful when you want to guarantee that Access identifies your word/string as a field...particularly should you choose to use normally reserved words like 'Date' for a field. Access will let you use 'Date' but if you just try typing that in, it may confuse it with the Date() function.

Mike

Upvote 0