Form Name automatically Database Name

cterjesen

Board Regular
Is there a way to have a Form automatically be named the same as the database name? I have limited knowledge of programming, so please be specific if it requires writing code somewhere (where?).

Also, is it possible to have the Autoexec macro I have (which automatically opens the Form) know the name of the form based on the name of the file?

Thanks!

Excel Facts

Quick Sum
Select a range of cells. The total appears in bottom right of Excel screen. Right-click total to add Max, Min, Count, Average.
Hi, it is possible to do what you want but if you're just wanting a specific form to open when you launch the application, there is a simpler way.
Go to Tools | Startup and, in the top right section of the dialog, select the startup from from the drop-down list. Next time you launch the database, that form will open.

Denis

Upvote 0
Hey, that works great. Thanks!

Is there any way to have the Form Name automatically be the same name as the database name?

So if I copy the database and rename it "Version 2", the form name would also be "Version 2".

Thanks for your help!

Upvote 0
I have never given a form a dynamic name, purely because of the grief it causes for anything that refers to the form. In Access, name changes don't cascade through the database so you'll end up with any number of errors.
However, I guess you could change the caption of the form or one of its labels dynamically. That would not be such a reference problem -- but I'll have to wait till I get home to test it out (no Access at work, currently 11 am...)

Denis

Upvote 0
I have never given a form a dynamic name, purely because of the grief it causes for anything that refers to the form. In Access, name changes don't cascade through the database so you'll end up with any number of errors.