Form Default Value based on Combo Box selection

John P

Board Regular
I would like to have the value for Employee ID autopopulate based upon the Employee name selected from a drop down menu. Employee and Employee ID are two fields found on the same source table, so I think there needs to be a link, but am not very familiar with forms. Any assistance is appreciated. THanks

Excel Facts

Can you sort left to right?
To sort left-to-right, use the Sort dialog box. Click Options. Choose "Sort left to right"
You dont say where you want it to autopoulate to but, if you have built the combo using the wizard then you will probably find that you have the value already but are not displaying it!
You can probably just create an unbound text box and make its source "= [yourComboBox]"

HTH

Peter

Upvote 0
I am new to the forms, so please bear with me. I changed the control source to the employee combo box, but now the employee field and the employee ID field both display the employee name. My desire is to have the selection of the employee name populate the employee ID with the ID for the employee selected.

BTW, I did not create the combo with the wizard. I basically changed the employee text box to a combo box and made the row source type a Table/Query (created the query) and made the row source the Employee Name.

Upvote 0
Ok. If you are just after seeing the ID that goes with a name then:-
Go into the query for the employee name combobox and add the employeeID to the grid after the name.
Go back to the form letting the query save the changes.
In the property sheet for the combo box
Change the Column Count to 2
add a 0 width column to the Column Width field (2.54cm will become 2.54cm;0cm)

then for the control source of your employee field have =[cbotest].[Column](1)

This will update the ID when you change the name.

Upvote 0
Here is how I have it set up: