Find carriage return in cell & highlight row

RigMan

I know there's been discussions here before on how to search for carriage returns, but my needs are a little different, and being a newbie, I can't seem to figure it out myself.

I have a spreadsheet where one of the cells should contain only a single part number. But to save time, in certain instances the user has put one part number, hit Alt-Enter and entered a second part number. They do this because all the other information on the row is identical for both parts.

Now I need to search all cells for carriage returns, and if found, do one of two things;

Option A - Highlight the row in yellow. Then a user can go thru and manually copy the row, and change the existing row and the new row to contain a single part number only, or....

Option B - Automatically insert a new row after the offending row, and copy and paste the row. Then highlight both rows for the user to modify. This would at least save the user a little time.

Note there is also other columns that could contain a carriage return as well. I'd like to copy those rows as well. So all cells would need to be searched and either option A or B performed. But if multiple cells in the same row have Carriage returns, I only want to copy the row once.

Thanks in advance,
Ronnie

Excel Facts

What did Pito Salas invent?
Pito Salas, working for Lotus, popularized what would become to be pivot tables. It was released as Lotus Improv in 1989.
Hi Ronnie

You could use conditional formatting for this (in the example, I selected A1:B6 and went Format>Conditional Formatting):

Excel Workbook
AB
1NameOther
2RichardSchollar1 House
3Jeremy2 Houses
4Daniel1 Car
5DonaldTrump10 Houses20 Cars
6Samuel1 House1 Car
Sheet3
Cells with Conditional Formatting
CellConditionCell FormatStop If True
A11. / Formula is =COUNTIF(1:1,"*"&CHAR(10)&"*")>0Abc
B11. / Formula is =COUNTIF(1:1,"*"&CHAR(10)&"*")>0Abc
A21. / Formula is =COUNTIF(2:2,"*"&CHAR(10)&"*")>0Abc