Extracting data using a macro?

flammabubble

Hi there,

I've been tracking statistics in excel for video games I play for years. In this instance I've been manually tracking stats for league of legends games since 2012. I was looking to streamline the process (rather than having to type out all of the information I want each time I play a game).

League of legends has a fairly comprehensive match history page and I had the thought that there might be a way for me to simply copy and paste the entire page of the game I want into excel, and then use a macro to pull out the information into a readable format on a different sheet. As long as I copy the whole page each time (and the layout of the page is correct) I presume that this would be possible but I'm not sure how to go about doing it and was looking for some advice.

I know that web-scraping is another possibility, as is using Riot's API to try and build a program which would sort the data itself, but I'm not that technical so I'm hoping for a solution that I can put together in excel.

Thanks!

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
If you want a macro to clean the info you pasted, why not go one step further and use VBA to get the data from their site? An alternative: I don't know exactly how their API works, but you could use the API data as a data source and use Power Query to transform it into a table. It looks like you just need an API key (which you can get at their site) and after that a query URL. That URL could be used as a data source I guess.
Hope that gets you started,
Koen

Upvote 0

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
alchavar

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.