Excel VBA Workbook code out of range when opened

Xyphus

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hey

I am new to VBA and have mainly built this thanks to ChatGPT, forums and gluing code together, I am having a problem with this code in that when I first open my document and this is activated I get a 'Run-time error '9': Subscript out of range' BUT if I go into the VBA editor in Excel and click reset this code works exactly how it is meant to, this is the code

Private Sub Workbook_NewSheet(ByVal Sh As Object)
Dim code As String
code = "Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)" & vbCrLf & _
" If Not Intersect(Target, Me.Range(""D2"")) Is Nothing Then" & vbCrLf & _
" HideRowsBasedOnCriteria" & vbCrLf & _
" End If" & vbCrLf & _
"End Sub"

With ThisWorkbook.VBProject.VBComponents(Sh.CodeName).codeModule
.InsertLines .CountOfLines + 1, code
End With
End Sub

the purpose of this is to paste this code

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
If Not Intersect(Target, Me.Range("D2")) Is Nothing Then
HideRowsBasedOnCriteria
End If
End Sub

into a new sheet on creation that works as a filter using values from a hidden column

Excel Facts

Best way to learn Power Query?
Read M is for (Data) Monkey book by Ken Puls and Miguel Escobar. It is the complete guide to Power Query.
Hi, welcome to the MrExcel forum.

Perhaps you could give us a little more detail on what you are trying to accomplish. I am not sure that ChatGPT was your friend here... It appears that you are trying write code with code, which is not such a great idea and I believe that you have to grant Excel certain permissions to do that and it becomes a security risk.

Upvote 0
Hi igold

ChatGPT did mention the security risk and after reading your comment I am considering other methods for this,