Excel 2003 v 2007

Expiry

We have Excel 2003 at work and some people in one department have taken an option to upgrade to 2007.

Firstly, I'm surprised that some have done it and not all, but that aside, do you think it's a good move for the whole company to upgrade?

Most of the people I work with don't know the basics of Excel, so it's not going to empower the users that much, but if it'll provide greater performance for the network then it's worth considering.

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December
As a programmer, I strongly encourage whatever version a company is on, that ALL users be on the same version. It just saves a whole lot of unnecessary headaches, especially with VBA code (or else certain macros may not work on the 2003 machines).

I work for a rather large global corporation and about a year ago they did a global upgrade from 2003 to 2007. Here's my take:

For the people who don't use Excel very often, they complain about the ribbon and don't see any benefit.

For people who have a general understanding of Excel, the addition of the iferror, sumifs, countifs, remove duplicates, and some formatting is nice upgrade.

Personally, I think the reduction in file sizes from using the new file formats is great!

If you have a choice, it may be better to wait for 2010 to be released. The additions they've made to the pivot tables (and power pivot add-in), along with the =aggragate function and the 2007 additions as well seem to give the most bang for the buck.

just my $.02 at least.