Excel 2002 D&D Experience Calculator

StarFire13

I am using Excel 2002 for XP and I'm fairly new to Excel, but I'm technology savvy in that I will be able to follow directions well.

Background:

I'm trying to generate a tool that will help me calculate experince awards for the players in my D&D game based on:

The level of each Player vs. The Challenge Rating of the Monster divided by the number of players assisting in that fight.

I found a tool at this link that is similar to what I want to do.

http://files.meetup.com/47257/Experience Calculator.xls

The problem with the Excel sheet listed above is that it makes the assumption that all of the Players attend every game seession and every fight.

I'd like to figure out a way to adjust the file so I can include an attendance chart so that each player recieves experience for ONLY the fights they attend instead of every fight (CR).

When downloaded, the file above needs to be unprotected. It does not have a password. Once unprotected, you can select all the columns and Unhide them to see the chart being used to generate the experience for each player.

While the sooner I come up with a workable solution the better, this is also a learning process for me. If you could point me in the right direction of the Microsoft Help files to reserach an answer that would be great. (IE the logical flow of equations needed to integrate an Attendance Chart and generate an appropriate experince total).

I have cross-posted this to one other board. I can't post the link right now since their forum servers are doing an update. I can say that I posted it under the D&D forums on www.wizards.com/dnd/ under the Digital Tools sub-forum. In the morning when the servers come back up I'll try to edit this post and include the direct link to the thread. If an answer is posted to either thread, I will re-post it in the other as well, including whether or not it solved my dilema.