Error handling that captures name and path details in a log without ending the macro

marts2003

I've developed a macro that crawls through a directory (every folder, sub-folder, sub-sub-folder etc), and deletes personal data from any Excel file that it finds - and this works well, so long as I ignore any errors along the way.

What I would really like is for some form of error handling that captures the name and path details of the Excel files that cause an error (because they can't be opened) and then outputs them to a log file, so that I can know how many there are - and can then visit, assess (and possibly fix) each file that's causing an error.

I'm new to this, so any suggestions will be gratefully received!

Excel Facts

Copy formula down without changing references
If you have =SUM(F2:F49) in F50; type Alt+' in F51 to copy =SUM(F2:F49) to F51, leaving the formula in edit mode. Change SUM to COUNT.
Welcome to the Board!

If you post your code, we may be able to help you add error handling to your code to do what you want.

Upvote 0
Hi Joe,

Thanks for responding!

I won't post the entire macro (hope that's ok) - but I believe this is the relevant section:

Sub All_You_Need_To_Do_Is_Run_This_Macro()

Dim colFiles As New Collection

'Important - Need to update the directory address

RecursiveDir colFiles, "C:\Test Folder", "*.xls*", True
Dim vFile As Variant
Dim wbkOpen As Workbook

For Each vFile In colFiles
On Error Resume Next
Set wkbOpen = Workbooks.Open(filename:=vFile, UpdateLinks:=0)

Call This_Focuses_On_Workbooks_And_Worksheets
wkbOpen.Close savechanges:=True
Next vFile

End Sub

Without the "On Error Resume Next", the code hangs at "Set wkbOpen = Workbooks.Open" as soon as it encounters an Excel file it can't immediately open.

Is this sufficient info?

Many thanks!

Upvote 0
Well, I cannot really do a good test without all the code, but here is some untested code that might help.