Dynamically referencing previous sheet with VBA vlookup function

JRedRocker

I am brand new to VBA. Just started recording macros and trying to modify them to work for my purposes.

I am trying to get the following code to reference the previous sheet dynamically rather than the sheet I selected when recording the macro (Oct 31) then autofilling to the end of the data.

LastRow = Cells(ActiveSheet.Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row
Range("U2:U" & LastRow).FormulaR1C1 = "=VLOOKUP(RC[-16],'Oct 31'!C[-16]:C[1],17,FALSE)"

I found another thread that said to use activesheet.previous.select but I can't seem to replace 'Oct 31' with that code to make it work.

Suggestions please?:eeek:

Excel Facts

Using Function Arguments with nested formulas
If writing INDEX in Func. Arguments, type MATCH(. Use the mouse to click inside MATCH in the formula bar. Dialog switches to MATCH.
Hi and welcome to the forum.

Try something like this...

Range("U2:U" & LastRow).FormulaR1C1 = "=VLOOKUP(RC[-16],'" & ActiveSheet.Previous.Name & "'!C[-16]:C[1],17,FALSE)"

Upvote 0
Hi I am also facing this kind of issue, wherein i applied the above formula but its giving me Run time Error "1004" - "Method 'Range' of Object_Global failed"

please help.

Did you calculate the last row?

Code:
[B]LastRow = Cells(ActiveSheet.Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row[/B]
Range("U2:U" & [B]LastRow[/B]).FormulaR1C1 = "=VLOOKUP(RC[-16],'" & ActiveSheet.Previous.Name & "'!C[-16]:C[1],17,FALSE)"

Upvote 0
Did you calculate the last row?

Code:
[B]LastRow = Cells(ActiveSheet.Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row[/B]
Range("U2:U" & [B]LastRow[/B]).FormulaR1C1 = "=VLOOKUP(RC[-16],'" & ActiveSheet.Previous.Name & "'!C[-16]:C[1],17,FALSE)"

Oh yes, i forgot to do that. now its working.

Thanks a lot " AlphaFrog" and everyone who participated in this forum

Upvote 0
it doesn't work in the below formula
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = _