Display Parameter Values in Report When No Rows are Returned

lmoseley7

Board Regular
Let me start by saying I am an Access novice, but I'm pretty knowledgeable about Excel so I'm comfortable with formulas, functions and VBA to an extent. I have an Access report that I run that has a parameter on the query that attempts to match maturity dates to transactions in the table. So if you wanted to know what securities are scheduled to mature tomorrow, you would enter tomorrow's date. The problem comes up when there are no items maturing on the selected date. The date entered in the prompt will not appear in the report. There is no error, it is just blank. I need to know that the report was run for the correct date when I am reviewing other's work, but the date will not appear. How can I get this to appear when no activity is returned? I am using the following in a text box to get the parameter date when activity is returned:
=Reports![Maturities On This Date]![Enter Maturity Date]

Thanks in advance.

Excel Facts

How can you turn a range sideways?
Copy the range. Select a blank cell. Right-click, Paste Special, then choose Transpose.
Hi,
The date should be part of the report too. For instance, in the report header.

Upvote 0
I was able to accomplish what I needed by running the report from a form where I can pull the date value even when no data is returned. It took quite a bit more work than what I was hoping, but if there is no other way, I guess I'll take it. I'm still open to simpler methods however.

Upvote 0
One way, if you want to "capture" parameters input and display them on your Report is to have a Form where you enter the Report Parameters and then call the Report.
I make this Form abound to a single-line Table for the sole purpose of storing the parameters I input into a single-line table (if you set the Form to not allow new record creation or record deletion, you can always make sure it is exactly one line).