Detecting Repetitive List Choices

Fujirich

Hi folks - I'm a newbie here so be gentle. But I'm so glad I found this great resource!

I'm working on a project I could use some insight with. My problem is that I have 7 non-continous cells across a page, with each of these cells set up with data validation list-choices. Some of the data from the lists could be chosen as duplicates - something I want to alert a user to. So far, there are about 28 possible choices that may appear in those lists

I want to trigger a warning to the users if a duplicate choice is made in any of the seven cells. So I need some way to compare the chosen values, look for a duplicate, and return a simple value (True, False, or 1,2 - whatever) in order to trigger a warning that I'll format on the page.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance :D

Excel Facts

Remove leading & trailing spaces
Save as CSV to remove all leading and trailing spaces. It is faster than using TRIM().
Howdy Fujirich,

Sub No_Dupes()
Dim MyValues(7)
For K = 1 To 7
For L = 1 To 7
If L = K Then L = L + 1
If L > 7 Then Exit For
If MyValues(K) = MyValues(L) Then
MsgBox ("Duplicate Picked")
GoTo DoSomething
End If
Next L: Next K
DoSomething:
End Sub

Something Like This?

Upvote 0
Hi Ken:

Thanks for the idea, which may work great. I'm pretty weak on VBA skills, so it may take me a little to test it, but I will get back to you on the outcome.

I note that you're using a message box to signal the user of the duplicate. I'm actually wanting something even simplier - just a conditionally formatted warning right on the page that signals the problem, and then actually prints on the sheet in the event the user isn't wise enough to correct it.

As oposed to a VBA solution (which I'm sure is the most flexible and elegent), I was wondering if there are any array functions that could used to give me what I'm looking for.

Thanks...

Upvote 0
Actually the code I gave you has a pretty blatant flaw :oops: