descriptions for options in list?

nutritiouspig

here's my setup:

I have a combobox which references a table containing different reports and report names. I want to come up with a way to have a description of the report that is selected from the combobox list, to come up in an area to the right of it. I want to use the same area for every description. Any suggestions on a way to do this?

I am pretty new in Access, thanks for any help! :whistle:

~s

Excel Facts

Ambidextrous Undo
Undo last command with Ctrl+Z or Alt+Backspace. If you use the Undo icon in the QAT, open the drop-down arrow to undo up to 100 steps.
A combobox can display multiple columns (fields) for each row (record) of data. Add a description field to the table and display it.

Alternatively, slightly more complex, you could add some code to the 'afterupdate' event for the combo-box that pushes field values into a text box (to the right as you suggest).

My guess is the first option (multiple columns) will handle your problem.

Mike

Upvote 0
I already have it set up as suggested in your first solution.

Like:

Report 1
Report 2
Report 3

That would be in the drop down from the combo box list. What I want is to have it so that if "Report 1" is selected, off to the right is an explination of what "Report 1" is.

i.e., "Report 1 pulls team information for the date range selected....etc...etc...etc..."

So if Report 2 is selected from the combobox list, a different explination shows in the same place as the explination for Report 1, and so on.

Hope that makes sense.

|-------------| |-------------------|
|combo box | |ex[plination field|
|-------------| |-------------------|

Upvote 0
The easiest way to do this is to use multiple columns and leave the combo box wider. I understand what you're getting at though.

Generally, what you're going to have to do is create a form event that triggers after you select a specific pull down item in the combo box and pass that value to an existing text box.