Delete Records in multiple tables based on specific criteria

sbneale3450

Hello, I am building a database where there are multiple different types of warehousing data in different formats brought into different tables. the only common item in each record is the week number. Example of date types are Lines Picked, Cases shipped, Errors reported, etc. I have everything working so far, but I am trying to come up with a way to clear the finalized date quickly in case there are errors that need to be fixed prior to reporting out. since there are really no relationships I am struggling to find an quick solution rather than build a query for each of the 10 different tables and creating a macro that runs them all. what would be ideal is an input box that pops up requiring a week number entered and will remove the records from all the tables based on the data in the input box. I am fairly new to Access and some of what I find on google is confusing. I appreciate any help you can give

Steve

Excel Facts

Create a Pivot Table on a Map
If your data has zip codes, postal codes, or city names, select the data and use Insert, 3D Map. (Found to right of chart icons).
Hi,
You will have to write 10 delete queries so probably your original idea was okay.
The only way you could do it "at once" would be with a cascading delete that would require relationships between all the tables.

Strictly speaking deleting data is dangerous. More commonly you have a column for IsCancelled or IsInactive and just set a flag or bit value (true/false or 0/1 or 0/-1). It somewhat depends on why you are getting these "errors" - you may find it easier to just delete but if so be forewarned that you can't undelete.

Ten tables is also a lot if this unrelated data is in fact in some way related. Perhaps you don't need so many tables.

Upvote 0