Date Formula Problem

G Marshall

Board Regular
Hi
I am relatively new to Access and I am having problems with a report.
I have a "Fuel Consumption report". Consumption for a particular site is as follows.
Consumption =((Previous Reading ltrs + Deliveries ltrs)-Current Reading ltrs)
where "Deliveries" is the sum of all deliveries between my previous reading date and my current or most recent reading date.
My problem is how to set up my formula to recognise "previous date" and "current date"
I would appreciate any help.

Thanks

Gerald

Excel Facts

Round to nearest half hour?
Use =MROUND(A2,"0:30") to round to nearest half hour. Use =CEILING(A2,"0:30") to round to next half hour.
Have you had success with this yet? If not, how were you thinking of having your query read your 2 dates? Do you want to be prompted for them?

Upvote 0
Hello
Thanks for your interest in my question, I have not had any success as yet.

My Query is linked to two tables, “Tank Readings” and “Deliveries”.

As Delivery invoices are received they are entered in the “Deliveries” table with the fields, “Site” “Delivery Date” and “Quantity”. Each site could have multiple deliveries each month.

Tank readings are taken once per month and entered in the “ Tank Readings” table with the fields “Site” “Reading” and “Date”

Each site name is unique so I was hoping that rather than having to enter dates with a prompt, my query could be set up with a formula that would total the sum of all deliveries using the dates between the most recent, tank reading date and the previous tank reading date of a particular site in the “ Tank Readings” table.

It sounds a bit complicated to me and perhaps it is not possible, but I would appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks for your time.

Cheers (y)

Gerald

Upvote 0
Ok - that is a tough one. Here is something you can try (it worked for me). You'll have to change the table and field names. My table names (and fields therein) are:

Tank Readings (Site, Reading, Date)