Database Design question for those with experience

Mr. Nice Guy

This question has to do with my actual database design. I'm new to databases (as most of us are), and not very good at analysis and designing the structure yet, so I was wondering if someone with a little experience could help me out.

My database will be used for storing Test Requests submitted by Engineers. There are three types of sub-test for each test, Rate tests, Durability Tests, and Creep Tests. A Rate/durability/creep test can consist of a number of "Static Deflection", and/or "Dynamic" sub-sub-tests, and the only thing that differentiates the three types of sub-tests is that they each have a number of different individual properties. How could i set up my tables so that each test can have a number of rate/durability/creep tests, and each of those could have a number of statics/dynamics? This is what i have so far:
Code:
  _________                ____________
|   TEST   |              |   TESTTYPE  |
|testID    | -----        |testTypeID   |        ________
|   .      |      `-----> |testID       |       |  TYPE  |
|   .      |              |typeID       | <---- |typeID  | 
|__________|              |_____________|       |name    |
                                                |________|

(BTW formatting that table was not as easy as it looked)
The testID indicates which test number it is, and type would describe whether its a rate, durability, or creep, which ends up building a many-to-many junction table. the only problem is that i don't know how to go about assigning the custom properties to each sub-test depending on what type of test it is...I'm sure that any of you gurus will know how to go about doing this with all your vast experience. Well at least i hope so cause I wouldn't want to go drawing all these pretty tables for nothing...

Thanks to everyone who considers it anyway.

Regards,
CB

Excel Facts

Enter current date or time