creating the impossible dream

killerleaf

Board Regular
ok, I have seen this done, so I know it can happen...but I have this awful feeling that it is going to take more knowledge than I possess. Please, can someone let me know if this is possible in access? (it has been done on a Mac...)(using hypercard)(trying to get rid of the MAC)

Here is the scenario:

I work in a hospital. one of the things that we track for certain patients is their pain scores....these range from 0 to 10. any given patient can have anywhere from 1 to 100 of these individual scores.

I need a way to enter each of these scores for each patient, and have them counted, (one field) and averaged (another field). One each individual patient, not as a group. So, kinda like this:

John Doe MRN#0000000

total #7 average #1.42

The patient info does come from another table. There will be times when a patient has multiple entries, (from different dates) However, I need to figure out how to do the pain scores.

Any input, positive or negative, will be appreciated very, very, very much.

Excel Facts

Convert text numbers to real numbers
Select a column containing text numbers. Press Alt+D E F to quickly convert text to numbers. Faster than "Convert to Number"
Play around with the "Report" design wizard. About 3 screens in, you will have an opportunity to hit a button (I recall) called "Summary Options." Bang it and click in the desired sums, etc. (>=1 grouping categories are required, BTW)

(In the future, if you forget to push that horrid button, and you make reports with the wizard, you will be suitably punished in inconvenience for your oversight.)

It sounds like all that you want is available in basic Access reports by just grouping on Patient number. But probably not without your hitting a 30-Day or Que book :cry:

Upvote 0
Hullo. Another way to do this would be to set up a query somewhat like this:
Code: